(U.S.) Puig Destroyer-S/T LP (2014)

Country: USA
Genre: Hardcore, Punk, Grindcore, Powerviolence

Label: No Sleep
Tracks: 20
Length: 24.0'

Puig Destroyer is a "virtual" four piece band from various locations in the US including California and Chicago.  Puig Destroyer formed in early 2013 from the looks of things and get their name from Los Angeles Dodgers’ All-Star outfielder Yasiel Puig .  Puig Destroyer features Riley Breckenridge of Thrice, Ian Miller from Kowloon Walled City, Mike Minnick of Curl Up and Die fame, and Jon Howell from Kowloon Walled City.  Together these four dudes have created an insanely heavy band that seamlessly melds elements of hardcore, punk, grindcore, and powerviolence within their sound.  All Puig Destroyer's songs draw inspiration from baseball, which puts a refreshing spin on the band's sound in style.  Since their inception in 2013, Puig Destroyer have released a six song self-titled EP in July of 2013, which was released via The Ghost Is Clear records self-released and a second EP titled Wait For Spring in November of 2013.  This is the Puig Destroyer's latest self-titled full-length LP.  On their latest LP, Puig Destroyer destroy twenty songs in about 24 minutes, which results in a brutal and tight as fuck listen.  This album was originally released via No Sleep records on September 20th, 2014.  This album was also given the repress treatment for national record store day last weekend.  I was fortunate enough to snag a copy of the deluxe reissue and let me just say that the album and cover layout look amazing.  Head over to the No Sleep webstore.  You might be lucky and score yourself a leftover copy of the RSD repress.  Overall, this album rips beyond belief.  Highly recommended!  Enjoy!

Puig Destroyer on Bandcamp
Puig Destroyer on Facebook
Puig Destroyer's Band Site
Purchase Here
Listen Here

No comments: