ACEPHALIX-Decreation LP (2017)

Country: USA
Genre: Black Metal
Label: 20 Buck Spin/Sentient Ruin Laboratories
Tracks: 7
Length: 37.50'

We could not be happier to work with 20 Buck Spin to release Acephalix's new crushing album Decreation on September 22 2017. While the Northwest label will be handling the CD/LP/Digital versions, Sentient Ruin will bring you a cassette version of the album, as has been in the case of "sister" band Vastum, with whom Acephalix shares two members (down from three).
Nothing is left to be said about Acephalix that hasn't been said before. We're talking about one of the most barbaric, involved, and blatantly ignorant death metal bands to have ever appeared in America. Having gotten their start around 2006 as a primitive and heavy crust band influenced by Wolfpack, Anticimex, and Discharge, the band eventually steered its sound toward the realm of the most demented and regressed death metal, soon ascending to role of kingpins among the Bay Area's most revered, feared, and gruesome extreme metal acts.
After having released albums on famed San Francisco crust label Prank Records, and then signing to Southern Lord in their "death metal" era for two albums, and sharing the stage with bands like Autopsy, Pentagram, Winter, Undergang, and beyond, the band dissolved in 2011, only to make a glorious return in 2015 with the writing of new material. Since their Southern Lord debut (2011's punishing Interminable Night) and for most of their recent history the band has been formed by core and founding members Dan Butler (also vocalist of Vastum), David Benson (also drummer Depressor), guitarist Kyle House (also in Serpents of Dawn, and ex-Poison Idea and ex-Vastum) and bassist Luca Indrio (also in Vastum, and Necrot).
Interminable Night also marked the mutation from Acephalix's early crust punk leanings into a blood-thirsty old school death metal war machine, as (while still retaining a solid crust-punk framework) they began to embrace the style and aesthetics of ancient Scandinavian death metal bands like Dismember, Grave, Demigod, Nihilist, etc, assaulting the listener with a maelstrom of buzz sawing riff madness, dark and perverted atmospheres, and punishing caveman rhythms. On top of their neaderthalian and feral musical approach, Acephalix have been known for Dan Butler's intimidating presence and revolting lyrics dealing with death, violence, and perversions of the most unnamable kind, and with his unpredictable stage presence which has seen Acephalix shows quickly escalate into chaos, with heaps of staked bodies, and people flying all over the place.
Today we're honored and excited to be a part of the continuation of this legacy from one of America's most praised, revered, and feared death metal hordes, as they prepare the release of Decreation - their most involved, bestial, and gruesome release to date, splendidly enhanced by Greg Wilkinson of Earhammer Studios' staggering low end production and Brad Boatright of Audiosiege's crisp and aggressive mastering. The coronation of the work is the incredible cover art done for the band by luminary Adam Burke.

You can already hear the song Suffer (Life in Fragments) right here, while cassette pre-orders are already live on our store and Bandcamp. Stay tuned for more songs to surface soon and for further announcements. (Press Note)

*This is some amazing primitive, raw and filthy black metal FFO: of Noisem, Iilsa, Seven Sisters Of Sleep, TEETH, and other like-minded bands.  Highly recommended!  Enjoy!

Sentient Ruin Laboratories on Bandcamp
20 Buck Spin on Bandcamp
Purchase via Sentient Ruin Laboratories
Purchase via 20 Buck Spin
Listen Here

No comments: